Remote Control Cars in Track and Field: The Mini, Mini Cooper


There I am, watching NBC’s Saturday late night coverage (I need my Mary fix) of the women’s discus final, when the commentators call my attention to a mini Mini Cooper cruising around the field.

I’m sorry, what?

Yes, in true British fashion, mini remote control Mini Coopers are being used to ferry items (discus, javelin, shot-put, and hammers) back to athletes. Each car can carry up to about 18 pounds of cargo, at about 1/4 the size of an actual Mini.

Objects are loaded via… the sunroof, clearly.

Also, according to NBC commentary (which is never wrong) there is a petition to get Mary Carillo on Twitter, and I’m pretty sure everyone should get on that action.

2 Comments

Filed under Commenting, Informative, Obscure Summer Sports

2 responses to “Remote Control Cars in Track and Field: The Mini, Mini Cooper

  1. Skip T

    How can I inquire about purchasing one of these Olympic Remote MINIs?

    • Olympic fanatic

      Just a get 1/4 scale Radio Controlled model (a few brands out there). Spary paint it in your colour scheme and remember to cut a big hole on the polycarbonate (strong plastic) body!

Leave a comment