Savoy Cocktail of the Week: The Kicker


I hated the Kicker. I will not lie. I just hated it. I have never so disliked a selection from The Savoy Cocktail Book.

I suppose it had to happen at some point.

Now, to be honest, I did make a bit of a mistake in the mixing. I would say I was a bit more heavy-handed with the dashes of Italian vermouth than I ought to have been; however, the result was so entirely off-putting that I had not the heart to give it another go.

The mixture of the appleness of Calvados and the sweetness of the vermouth and rum was like a deathly attempt at masking poison.

Moving on.

Next week I shall encounter two leaping cocktails.

The Leap-Frog Cocktail

1 Lump of Ice
The Juice of 1/2 Lemon
1 Glass Gin
1 Split of Ginger Ale

Serve in a long tumbler.

Leap Year Cocktail

1 Dash Lemon Juice
2/3 Gin
1/6 Grand Marnier
1/6 Italian Vermouth

Shake well and serve in cocktail glass. Squeeze lemon peel on top.

“The Cocktail was created by Harry Craddock, for the Leap Year celebrations at the Savoy Hotel, London, on February 29th, 1928. It is said to have been responsible for more proposals than any other cocktail that has ever been mixed.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Savoy Cocktail Book Project

Leave a Reply

