Tea Time for Moldy Zucchini Plants


pennypurlsandkittyknits.blogspot.com

Sadness of sadness in the world of gardening: An infestation has tackled my enormous, beautiful and bounteous zucchini plants. It appears to be a thin but pervasive white mold/fungus situation. I even found some truly bizarre white mushrooms growing near the bases of a couple of plants. Sadly, I was so distraught that I discarded the culprits without photographing them as specimens (also, regrettably, it is pouring outside now so the picture is not from my garden, but is a pretty close match to my situation with mold on the leaves and stalks).

What to do?

I put my first Google-generated course of treatment into action last week. The inter-webs told me that chamomile tea is a great natural fungicide, oft used on zucchini and other squashes. Apparently the squash family is particularly susceptible to this fungal infection? I never encountered it before this year.

At any rate, I brewed up some strong chamomile tea, spritzed and hoped. There has been some definite improvement. I would say the whiteness is thinning out a bit, but it is not yet defeated.

I want extirpation, termination; in short: triumph over all things fungal.

Unfortunately, this whole situation arose during my vacation in the wide open west. By the time I returned to my vegetable patch, the mold had taken hold. Then it took me a couple days to sort it out… so before receiving any treatment the mold was pervasive. I still hope that continued spritzing with chamomile will help.

I do think if I had acted immediately, the chamomile would have vanquished most of the mold.

Oh time, why do you foil me?

1 Comment

Filed under Dear Life, Informative

One response to “Tea Time for Moldy Zucchini Plants

  1. The tansy plant is an organic natural fungicide as well. Clip several leaves and make a decoction by boiling them in water and let it steep for 24 hours. Use about 1/2 gallon of water for decoction w/ 2 handfuls of leaves. After steepin, strain into a gallon jug and add water to make 3/4 gallon. This is also known to me as a great fungicide prevention of blight when sprayed on tomato plants at weekly intervals. Happy Gardening!

Leave a Reply

