Mr. Men in French: Collection Bonhomme, Monsieur Curieux


One of the only—if not the only—bright sides to the disgusting sewer back-up flood in my parent’s basement was the discovery of yet more Mr. Men and Little Miss books by Roger Hargreaves of recent Google Doodle joy.

And guess what?! One of them is in French: Monsieur Curieux!

And from whence did this gem come to me? I will tell you.

When I was a kid, my family lived in Paris for a brief time whilst my mother did research at the National Archives for her dissertation. This left my Dad to entertain me all day. One of these entertainments was going to Burger King and figuring out how to ask for a paper crown in French. The success of this endeavor (near and dear to my five-year-old heart) coincided with a Kids Meal. As you can see from the image (Ce livre t’est offert par Burger King), this Hargreaves book was apparently the toy/gift included with the meal.

Love it.

As might be expected, Monsieur Curieux does rude and nosy things like read other people’s newspapers in the train.

Don’t you hate when people do that?

Don’t you hate yourself when you catch yourself doing that?

I was already familiar with the series (known in French as the Collection “Bonhomme”), and although I do not remember the moment this came into my life, I do remember forcing my mother to translate it for me over and over again before bedtime.

Good times.

As a bonus and related to a recent “Word of the Week” post, there is a Monsieur Grincheux located at the lower right-hand corner of the back cover! M. Grincheux is way more evocative than Mr. Grumpy.

Fantastic.

Leave a comment

Filed under General Joy

Leave a Reply

