Busytown Google Doodle: Who Doesn’t Love Richard Scarry?


Sunday’s Google Doodle  was another amazing childhood shout out: Richard Scarry’s Busytown folk brought so much joy to my youth. The tattered tomes still reside in my parent’s basement. It’s a magical place.

Scarry’s birthday was June 5, 1919—hence the Busytown doodle celebration from yesterday.

When I was really  little, I somehow convinced myself that my parents knew Richard Scarry and that the books were actually from him. I have no idea how I came up with this alternate reality, but I it would have been super cool. Super. Cool.

Later today I will probably venture to dig out a battered copy of What Do People Do All Day? and Richard Scarry’s Busy, Busy Town. And I will have a great time reminiscing. I will.

Leave a comment

Filed under General Joy

Leave a Reply

