Royal Wedding Day is Here!


It’s the day you have all been waiting for.

I am not great with dates, but luckily my sister has this fantastic tea cup situation inscribed with the date.

First of all, being uninformed about most things, I find myself boggled—right off the bat—don’t people usually get married on Saturdays?

I mean, I don’t begrudge anyone a day off work (which according to all my British sources is the highlight of this whole affair), but… well, whatever, I find it confusing.

And while this post is up bright and early (or rather, I suppose it is dark and early), I am not. Sorry. For those of you willing and able to wake up at before God to watch the nuptials… I suggest you invest in some 5 Hour Energy for the afternoon.

alisonjackson.com

Despite my propensity for sleeping in, I am looking forward to the endless slide shows that will surely be spawned by the 11.7 million (in-house estimate) members of the press in attendance.

In the meantime, I will simply revel in being followed by Alison Jackson’s @Queenie_Uncut AKA HRH Queen Elizabeth II (even though I quite preferred the first), and exploring the companion tweetings of @Kate_Uncut, @Wills_Uncut and the rest of the gang.

In case this is all quite confusing to you, Jackson explores the cult of celebrity and is the mind behind the faux-reality videos, pictures, et cetera of the royal wedding hullabaloo.

Yup.

So how else has Words to Bumble been preparing?

First of all, I got myself followed on Twitter by @Lynda_Margaret for a brief spell. She apparently has a business teaching women to be ladies and long story short her website includes a how-to on functioning like a human at High Tea.

As I am not a lady, this only served to make me hungry, and I have been eating watercress tea sandwiches for about a week in preparation for the big day. Sources tell me British people literally cannot survive a day without watercress. I love watercress, so there’s one point for me in my quest to emigrate.

No comment on either why I was followed or subsequently un-followed. None.

Here is my delicious watercress sandwich recipe, quite possibly unlike any actual traditional British recipe aside from the inclusion of bread and watercress:

Two slices of thin white bread, lightly toasted and then cooled a touch. Spread on a layer of Fromage d’Affinois, sprinkle a touch of salt and pepper on the cheese. Then pile up more watercress than you think and slap on that second piece of bread. Squish. Cut diagonally. Devour.

Since Easter just happened and I still have a lot of hard boiled eggs around the house, you might want to try one of those on the side.

You should probably drink some tea as well, thus signifying the tea sandwich-ness of it all. Plus, if you are up at 4 a.m., you will want some caffeine.

Wedding Day: Woot, woot.

3 Comments

Filed under Commenting, General Hilarity

3 responses to “Royal Wedding Day is Here!

  1. Hello,
    Thank you kindly for the link to my article on High Tea. It is certainly an exciting time.
    As for unfollowing you, I follow people whom I find of interest and regularly review if I am interesting enough to them, for them to follow me back. If they are not interested, I unfollow them.
    It appears that there must have been an error. I will check that you are following me, which you obviously must be to receive the article on High Tea Etiquette, and correct the error. My sincerest apologies.

  2. Pingback: Let’s Talk Souvenirs | Words to Bumble

  3. Pingback: Pondering the Royal Wedding | Words to Bumble

Leave a Reply

