Savoy Cocktail of the Week: Deep Sea


I have a tendency, when looking at drink recipes, not to absorb the ratios so much as get swept away by the range of ingredients. This sometimes results in the conclusion I came to last week regarding the Deep Sea Cocktail: “Oh, it’s a very wet martini (haha, because it’s the Deep Sea, obviously), dressed up with a twist (i.e. orange bitters and a hint of absinthe).”

So that’s the bottom line I guess. I love martinis, and I like those on the wetter side of the spectrum, so this was a cocktail that I would naturally enjoy.

I have yet to make a drink in the project with the orange bitters in which I am really able to detect their presence. I look forward to that day. I might try an actual martini with a dash of orange bitters and see how that goes.

The absinthe carried most of the bouquet in this one, despite the small amount involved. Absinthe is pretty strong stuff tho, literally and smell/taste-wise. The Deep Sea was our first foray into the land of drinks populated by the green fairy. It went well.

freshnewsmagazine.com

I quite enjoyed the Deep Sea cocktail, especially once I put the two and two together that it is very wet martini with trimming. A fitting pun of a libation to toast to the year marking Jacques-Yves Cousteau’s 100th birthday.

I grew up loving Cousteau specials on PBS. I would spend hours absorbed in that alternate universe, explored by Frenchmen in funny hats—I mean, let’s face it. This past summer I read Jules Verne’s 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, inspired by the nostalgia of the addition of a several Cousteau adventures to my Netflix queue.

So I am a little late toasting Captain Cousteau’s 100th (his birthday was June 11, 1910), but the Cousteau Society is celebrating all year, so the Deep Sea Cocktail celebratory toast totally still counts.

Next week the Savoy Cocktail Project is going royal and just little bit overboard with three cocktails named for the courtly lifestyle, which all happen to appear within the same two facing pages of the book: Du Barry, Duchess and Duke of Marlborough, pages 62-3.

Du Barry

1 Dash Angostura Bitters
2 Dashes Absinthe
1/3 French Vermouth
2/3 Plymouth Gin

Shake well and strain into cocktail glass. Add slice of orange.

Duchess

1/3 French Vermouth
1/3 Italian Vermouth
1/3 Absinthe

Shake well and strain into cocktail glass.

Duke of Marlborough

1/2 Sherry
1/2 Italian Vermouth
3 Dashes Orange Bitters

Stir well and twist orange peel on top.


Oh to have an opportunity to discuss the Duchesse du Barry…

*Disclaimer:  The coinciding of tasting these cocktails with the royal wedding week is entirely coincidental.

1 Comment

Filed under Savoy Cocktail Book Project

One response to “Savoy Cocktail of the Week: Deep Sea

  1. Pingback: Savoy Cocktails of the Week: Du Barry, Duchess & Duke of Marlborough | Words to Bumble

Leave a Reply

