Savoy Cocktail of the Week: Bloodhound


Last week we attempted the Bijou cocktail, described by tasters as a libation that “packs a real punch,” blending some seriously strong flavors: Chartreuse, Sweet Vermouth, Orange Bitters and Gin.

I was not a hug fan. I want to like Chartreuse since I a) own a large bottle, b) the name is so fun, c) I like reading about it, d) it’s an Easter egg dye color that I remember from my childhood. But maybe I just do not like it. Hard to say.

The Bijou definitely required some spaced out sipping, one sip would never do to absorb all the ingredients and the mix of flavors. Other tasters really enjoyed the cocktail, it seemed to grow on them (to the point that my half-finished glass was claimed once I decided I couldn’t take anymore). Possibly the Bijou would have benefited from being imbibed with some snacks to cut it every few sips.

Moving on.

This week we are introducing produce to the mix with the Bloodhound Cocktail, straight from page 30 of The Savoy Cocktail Book.

1/4 French Vermouth
1/4 Italian Vermouth
1/2 Dry Gin
2 or 3 Crushed Strawberries

Shake well and strain into cocktail glass.

Good luck.

**

And whilst we are on the subject of delicious cocktails, check out this Flickr set, “O Drink Perfeito” by Fabio Rex, brought to my attention by the delightful Kelly at Something Else.

Check them both out.

2 Comments

Filed under Savoy Cocktail Book Project

2 responses to “Savoy Cocktail of the Week: Bloodhound

  1. Pingback: Savoy Cocktail of the Week: The Bolo | Words to Bumble

  2. Pingback: Savoy Cocktail of the Week: The East Indian | Words to Bumble

Leave a Reply

