Nobody Ever Put a Commercial on my Walkman


[tweetmeme source=”JohannaAP25″]
I recently came upon “5 Reasons You Should Be Scared of Apple,” on Cracked.com; it is from February, but clearly I was busy obsessing over the Olympics at the time.

At the end of the article, author Robert Evans gets to his final point– “#1 Apple Versus Absolutely Everyone: The Masterplan.” At the very end of this last section readers learn about a seriously twisted futuristic advertising scheme that would interrupt service on one’s iPhone or iPod with an interactive ad that would render the device useless until the user adheres to the mandated interaction. Apple apparently describes this game plan thusly:

“Apple can further determine whether a user pays attention to the advertisement. The determination can include performing, while the advertisement is presented, an operation that urges the user to respond; and detecting whether the user responds to the performed operation. If the response is inappropriate or nonexistent, the system will go into lock down mode in some form or other until the user complies. In the case of an iPod, the sound could be disconnected rendering it useless until compliance is met. For the iPhone, no calls will be able to be made or received.”

Now… I love my iPod (and as I have noted before, I have gone the Droid route for my phoning needs), but let’s face it: the main essence of the straight-up iPod is to play music. Much like the trusty Walkman of childhood, but without the limited playlist and that whole switching the tape scenario, blah blah… It’s for music. And I paid for it. The music on it belongs to me. I am not even paying for a service. I paid for a device and I expect the device to do as advertised– not to stop functioning in the name of further advertising.

Weird, right?

Leave a comment

Filed under Really.

Leave a Reply

