Savoy Cocktail of the Week: The Ideal Cocktail & The Imperial


I begin with apologies all around for the recent slump in cocktail blogging. To make up for it, I present you with two cocktails instead of just the one I assigned myself last time.

The Ideal Cocktail was not entirely faithful to its name, but it was enjoyable, definitely in the top half of Savoy concoctions we have imbibed. In fact I have made it multiple times over the past month, always with a positive result.  It is one of the more “fun” but still serious and not fruity or sweet by any stretch of the imagination selections in our favored Savoy Cocktail Book. I went ahead and used my favorite Rio Red grapefruit juice from Trader Joe’s, which is delicious with or without the cocktail. Just so you know.

I had no idea whatsoever to do about the garnish situation: “serve small nut in glass,” but upon a little research at my favorite Savoy Stomp blog, I learned that pickled nuts are an actual thing in life. If I ever see them in a store, I might buy a small jar—but I make no promises. The Savoy Stomp blog said that the pickled walnut was distracting, and indeed it does sound distracting. I went ahead and tossed in a maraschino cherry instead, because they remind me of my childhood and the Ideal involves maraschino, so why not?

As a bonus selection for the week, I chose the Imperial Cocktail. I loved it. It may or may not be a new favorite.

1 Dash Maraschino
1 Dash Angostura Bitters
1/2 French Vermouth
1/2 Dry Gin

Stir well and serve with olive.

Sure, you might quibble that the Imperial is just another dressed up martini. Sure, that might be true. But also, it perfectly hit the spot. Pitch perfect for the end of a long day. I did cheat a bit though: I served them over a bit of ice. I am nearly certain that death is a warm martini.

The Imperial was described as “pleasingly bracing;” and, less politically correct, as making one feel quite refreshed in a way that someone who had been quelling insurrections all day would appreciate. You know, because it’s imperial….

Next up, I am going to attempt the Jabberwock Cocktail even though it includes now non-existent Caperitif. Luckily, I have a plan. If it works out, we’ll have the Jabberwock. If not, we’ll have a surprise. Either way, I will probably wax poetic about Lewis Carroll.

2 Dashes Orange Bitters
1/3 Dry Gin
1/3 Dry Sherry
1/3 Caperitif

Stir well and strain into cocktail glass. Squeeze lemon peel on top.

Yay! It’s the first J cocktail!

Progress.

2 Comments

Filed under Savoy Cocktail Book Project

2 responses to “Savoy Cocktail of the Week: The Ideal Cocktail & The Imperial

  1. Pingback: Savoy Cocktail of the Week: Jabberwock, Jimmy Blang, and the Quinine Flop of 2010 | Words to Bumble

  2. Pingback: Savoy Cocktail of the Week: The Loud Speaker & the Non-Savoy Bellatrix | Words to Bumble

Leave a Reply

